RELEASE – Review by Ralph, Wren Academy

releaseRelease follows Adam Thorn, a gay teenager, and his life with his parents, who are devout Christians and would no doubt be very upset if they knew, and his adult brother, Marty. Adam’s best friend is Angela, who lives on a farm with her parents. The book describes one of the worse days in Adam’s life with events such as the permanent departure on his old friend Enzo, the temporary, year-long departure of Angela, being sexually harassed by his boss, his parents discovering his sexual orientation, and the news that Marty is going to be a father. Watch him try to deal with all these issues while being enthralled by a sub story of a girl with magic powers.

My thoughts: I will be honest, I did not like this book much. I’m sure it is not a bad book but I do not like this form of genre. The sub-story is unnecessary and does not affect the book at all. It is essentially two stories in one but they interlocked so one may just be getting good but then it is halted so you can read an entirely new plotline. One story I found interesting but the other dull. I give this book 6/10.

 

Leave a comment