WING JONES – Review by Eleanor, Wren Academy

wingWing Jones is about a girl called Wing. When things take a turn for the worst Wing finds herself through running. Wing Jones is just an ordinary 16 year old but when her brother is in a car crash after drink driving she finds herself drawn to her lioness and this is where Wing finds her passion for running.

As the pain of her brother being in a deep coma starts to become more bearable Wing starts to think about what she wants in life even though she is still running for her brother to wake up – but will he?

I really like Wing Jones because it shows that if you keep believing in something you can do anything and when things in life take a big toll on your whole family finding a release can help you move on from the problem.

I would give this book 4 and a half stars because I love the way that the writer has presented Wing Jones as showing determination to help herself and her family learn to live with life even when they know there are going to be difficult times ahead.

WING JONES – Review by Carmel, JCoSS

wingWhat I love about this book is that it teaches you how to move on from the past, let loose and have fun, I guess for Wing that is to run run run.

If you have a love for adventure and a bit of romance too, plus emotion and happiness, this will be the perfect book for you.

Being a runner myself I especially like the character Wing, as even with all her hard times she manages to achieve and climbs.

This book is like a guideline to life; it shows you how to believe in yourself and be proud, be confident and overcome your fears, as Wing does with a big crowd.

I rate this book a full 5 star as it makes me want to right now run, run real far.

After reading this book you’ll know definitely not to judge a book by its colour, as Wing shows us being different is a great thing, even if you’re like no other.

Read this book if any puzzles in life come in your way; it can calm you , make you realise that you’re special, and help you come around in your every day.

 

I hope this has made you realise if you would like to read this book or not; if you do, I hope you like it, like it a lot.

 

Carmel Pelmont

WING JONES – Review by Sarah, Queen Elizabeth’s School for Girls

wingWing Jones is a really good book about how Wing feels like she is living in the shadow of her brother, and the fact that everyone admires him but no one takes any notice of her.

Wing is a teenage girl who is eager to find her place in the world and make everyone proud of her and so grabs the opportunity, when things go terribly wrong for her family, by taking up running.

I adore the fact that Wing is a diverse character, being African and Asian, because writers don’t often use mixed race characters.

Once you start reading it you have to finish because of the way it is written; she uses a lot of really good metaphors. I personally think that it is a really good book and I enjoyed it a lot. I would definitely recommend this book because it is so interesting.

WING JONES – Review by Alexandra, Wren Academy

wingWing Jones is a very realistic book set in the present in Georgia, America. Wing’s family is very poor and she lives with her two grandmas: one from China and one from Ghana, her mum and her older brother: Marcus. When Marcus is involved in a terrible car crash, he is left in a coma for months, making Wing’s family even poorer by paying for the medical treatments. The same night, Wing finds an extraordinary talent that can set her free from the pain of Marcus’ accident: running. She runs every night after that, without anyone knowing and a few weeks later when a girl from the running team notices her, she is put onto the running team and is doing very well; she is the best there! She enters a race where the winner is the face of a popular trainer company, which comes with lots of money. However, to train for this, she must stay away from her boyfriend for fear of him distracting her. Wing goes through all the challenges facing her because she knows who she is doing it for and that it is the right thing to do.

Wing Jones is about getting through problems and tough times as she went through her dad’s death and not knowing if her brother would make it. It is filled with heart-warming metaphors and brilliant description and I fell in love with her determination to do what she knows is right, no matter the cost.

I really enjoyed Wing Jones because it was exciting and enjoyable to read and also because it affected my daily life in a way that gave me hope and happiness. I would encourage others to read this book because it is beautifully written and would inspire them to think that nothing is impossible as Wing went from being bullied to one of the most famous person in her area.

 

WING JONES – Review by Alexandra, Wren Academy

wingWing Jones is a very realistic book set in the present in Georgia, America. Wing’s family is very poor and she lives with her two grandmas: one from China and one from Ghana, her mum and her older brother: Marcus. When Marcus is involved in a terrible car crash, he is left in a coma for months, making Wing’s family even poorer by paying for the medical treatments. The same night, Wing finds an extraordinary talent that can set her free from the pain of Marcus’ accident: running. She runs every night after that, without anyone knowing and a few weeks later when a girl from the running team notices her, she is put onto the running team and is doing very well; she is the best there! She enters a race where the winner is the face of a popular trainer company, which comes with lots of money. However, to train for this, she must stay away from her boyfriend for fear of him distracting her. Wing goes through all the challenges facing her because she knows who she is doing it for and that it is the right thing to do.

Wing Jones is about getting through problems and tough times as she went through her dad’s death and not knowing if her brother would make it. It is filled with heart-warming metaphors and brilliant description and I fell in love with her determination to do what she knows is right, no matter the cost.

I really enjoyed Wing Jones because it was exciting and enjoyable to read and also because it affected my daily life in a way that gave me hope and happiness. I would encourage others to read this book because it is beautifully written and would inspire them to think that nothing is impossible as Wing went from being bullied to one of the most famous people in her area.

 

WING JONES – Review by Blessing, Copthall School

wingWing Jones is a girl who is half Chinese and half Ghanaian. Bullied and isolated at school she suffers even more when her brother is involved in a serious car crash. He causes the crash himself and killing two people. Wing starts to wonder if her brother is who she thought he was. When she finds out she has a talent for running she wonders if this could help her family. She has got her lioness to run by her side. She enters the race that could change not just her life but her whole family’s for the better.

Katherine Webber connected me to Wing because she inspired me to just jump off my feet and run with her. This book is not a book I would’ve read just reading the blurb, but joining ‘Read4Barnet’ made me read this book. I rate this book an 8/10 because it is adventure packed and is very interesting. I loved Wing Jones and I’m sure you will too. In my opinion this book is amazing, humorous and sad at the same time. Make sure to get your own copy, because I am sure I’ll get my own too.

WING JONES – Review by Arjun, Queen Elizabeth’s School

wingA girl with a Ghanaian father and a Chinese mother, a perfect example of multiculturalism. Another perfect example from this book is the idiom ‘ Don’t judge a book by its cover’. I went into this book thinking that I would not like it even though I enjoy running. It looked really girly and quite frankly, it was the opposite. In fact I heartily enjoyed it and the mix of sport, home life and other things was very good, perfect even. I really enjoyed the adventure Wing went on, both as a sportsperson and a human being. My criticism of this book would be that we need to see more of Wing’s school life, especially in P.E. I would also like to see more character development before the drink-drive as it is quite sudden and we don’t see the effects as significantly. I’d like to see a good plot twist in this as well. Maybe, one of her opponents win and Wing comes second by half a second but the other girl is caught on drugs or something and it will really be a good influence to young sportsmen and create food for thought.

It is said that this book is for fans of David Leviathan, Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell on the school library and I have never heard of them at all. After finding out about their writing styles from a friend, Webber doesn’t seem to be the same. In fact, Webber has her own unique style of writing with multiple flashbacks and trips into fantasy. I think that the desperation idea was a bit too over the top, either have the money for Wing’s brother or to help the family, not both, as it seems that she is getting too desperate and it seems obvious that she will succeed.

I gave this book 4 and a half stars out of five. It was a very good writing style and plot, but there was not a significant build up and if Webber ever wrote a story with such a big shock, it needs to have a very good character development.